The Gamer's Quarter Forum Index The Gamer's Quarter
A quarterly publication

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SPSS Heeellpp!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Gamer's Quarter Forum Index -> Quarterly Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ryan

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:26 am    Post subject: SPSS Heeellpp! Reply with quote

I know dhex has some experience with SPSS, but I'm still fairly new to it and am needing some assistance. This might be an odd place to ask, but I know a few people around here are into economics and statistics, and I'm really needing some help on this.

Here's the situation: I need to write a paper that shows a bunch of regression business, so we pick a simple data set and go with it. I chose number of accidents per hour in Louisiana.

Y = Number of Accidents (Dependent)
X1 = Time of Day (Independent)
X2 = Number of Licensed Drivers (Independent)

In SPSS I have columns for Y, X1, X2, Dummy (0 for Night and 1 for Day), y, x1_square, x2_square, x1y, x2y, x1x2.

From here I'm supposed to run a regression and use the information in the report to say something like 'if X1 is zero, then number of accidents to X2 would be ___' for the two variables. But I'm lost when it comes to the dummy. Do I make the dummy X3? I messed around with that, but I had no idea how to regress it. I need to get these figures, do a few formulas, and then finish the paragraph, then go on about strength of the formula, problems with the formula, suggestions for future research etc.

Heeellllppp!
Swimmy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote